Ughhhhhhhhh

I was super proud when we weaned tiny human back at 7/8 months. Before we had kids I had already formulated the opinion that dummies weren’t a necessity. Flash forward to tiny human at day three of life in our atmosphere, one tired mamma and one not sleeping baby fighting each other to not be the first to cry. The loveliest nurse points out that she’s a sucker. Her velociraptor tendencies had made nursing painful and I had to pump. Poor thing just wanted the comfort (well then, don’t go for meat on your first meal crazy babe). So we tried the dummy. It was a god send. And I hate myself for thinking otherwise back when I was with out child.

Indi only needed her dummy to get herself to sleep. She didn’t need it to calm down or for teething. I could pop that dummy in her mouth and she would drop her head to my shoulder and be ready for bed. When we got back from our holiday to bali we knew it was time. She was still a chilled out little babe, and we wanted to wean her before she became attached to it. And we did, with relatively no hassle at all. We were shocked at the ease of it all.

Then came the teeth. You all know I’m not a fan of the teething devil (evil little snot it is). We had months of teething symptoms with no signs of movement on the teeth front. Then bang! At she reached nine months and started screaming in her sleep. She was restless and nothing could soothe her. She was starting to walk so we were allowing for some lack of sleep. Its understandable that babes are restless when they are starting to develop. But this was so out of character. So we tried the dummy, thinking just once cant hurt. Automatic relief for tiny human. It is so hard to deny your little ones the things that gives them comfort, when you see the pain fade and they physically relax. You just want to help, so you give in. And give in we did.

Now at 10 months she has 5 teeth and looks like two more are on their way. It seems the dummy was needed for a reason. She will chew on the dummy for about 10 mins, then shes out to it. For the night. Most of the time I find it on the floor, thrown out of the cot at some stage through out the night.

Friday night we decided it was time to wean again. Stupidest idea ever. The kid is now attached. Saturday night she was cranky and grizzling and crying on and off for an hour. We would go in and calm her down, settle her if we could them try to put her down again. She would just work herself up and cry again. That is until she threw up. BAD MAMMA! Yeah, so if the fact that there is food stains all over the baby, her sleeping bag, her pajamas and the white (who buys white for babies anyway) sheets was not bad enough, the guilt of being the reason she puked certainly made me mother of the year material. I automatically caved. I got upset, made a giant fuss, cuddled and rocked and consoled (perhaps someone should have done that to me?). I snuggled with her on the couch, gave her the dummy then put her back in her bed to sleep. If you were wondering – everything in that last sentence is wrong according to the research.

So here we are are the starting point again. This time equip with a bit more research and preparing for the worlds biggest shit storm (Oh didn’t I tell you? Indi can chuck tanties now. When she cranks up you sure as hell know about it). I don’t know if we will be strong enough to tackle this over christmas, give me strength if we do. But before she turns 1 on the 10th of February, as the spaghetti monster as my witness I will have her weaned (unless another 5 teeth decide they want to all come out at the same time, then in that case I’ll just give her a handful of dummies, leave her with aidan and book myself a trip to bali for three weeks). Wish us luck.

Much love peeps xxx

