DSC_0114 I must have blinked this month away, it has been busy and full and consuming. I nearly forgot to write this post. Mind you I forget all sorts of things lately. It seems a phone, two calendars and a diary just don’t cut it these days.

Ten months? I have no idea how to comprehend how it has been ten months. Or from another perspective, there is only two months until we celebrate tiny humans FIRST birthday. Technically that means I need to start party planning. I have waited with baited breath for this opportunity and already I am second guessing all my mental plans. Perhaps the hype in my head about this small milestone is a bit melodramatic? Time will only tell.

DSC_0180 DSC_0181

In the last month I have watched tiny human step on the accelerator. Literally days after I wrote tiny human at 9 months, she started to make moves towards walking. She now does laps. She walks more than she crawls. She ‘runs’ to get away, she chases the cat. She is busy. Not much of the time spent walking is slow either, babe has a need for speed. Unfortunately her body cant keep up with her and the stats for face plants have been rising.

DSC_0420 DSC_0244 DSC_0217

Along with the increase in injury has come the increase of grizzles, sooks, tanties, sads and tears. This month we have seen our first ‘real’ tear. I had been a bit worried that she didn’t cry right from the beginning. We were told not to worry until she turned 6 months. Since then I have been on constant watch for any sign of a tear. When most families would rush to a crying babe, I would be the crazy mum tilting my baby over to look really closely into her eye. Just in case there was a little tear I might have missed. This month has brought us precisely 4 whole tears (four different occasions also). Yes I am proud. Damn proud actually.

DSC_0282 DSC_0283

One reason for tears was the first official melt down (why dont they have a space for that in the baby book, along with first poo in a bath, first time screaming in a restaurant, first time eating cat food and first time throwing up out in public). The meltdown near broke my heart. I was caught off guard and really didn’t know how to react. I had taken her to the creche at the gym for the first time that morning. Expecting the worst I was pleasantly surprised when little bum barely even noticed I had left her. She continued to be a chirpy little thing all day, even when she skipped her afternoon nap. Come dinner time, she was being fed by Aidan (and fairly content to note). I was off to watch a movie with some friends, so like I do every time I go out, I gave her a kiss and told her that I loved her. I only reached the back door, then shit got real. I kid you not I thought she’d fallen out of the high chair she was howling so much. Nope just loosing her crap because mamma left. I tried to help Aidan calm her (note to the mammas out there – this was the dumbest thing to do in this situation, it makes everything so much worse for everyone involved. Will not make that mistake again). In the end Aidan told me to go, that he had it sorted. I got a text later saying that Indi refused to eat any more, the only way to calm her was to give her a bottle, she fell asleep during her bottle and was put to bed early. Poor little babe. But, as everyone keeps telling me, she’s going to have to get use to me leaving, otherwise there will be melt downs left right and centre.

Now the big one. TEETH. Its no secret that me and the teething devil are not friends. I have made many a promise, just for Indi to not have teething pain, and for our house to be sleep friendly again. Last month there was not a tooth peg in sight. I had secretly wished that if it was going to be like this they had better all come at the same time. Moral of this story? Be careful what you wish for. Looking at her gums yesterday she had three teeth, looking at them again today she has five. Yep, blink and you’ll miss it.

DSC_0434

Between the learning to walk, the tears, the injuries and the teeth, I am in constant state of awe. This child never ceases to amaze me. And that’s just the stuff I have time to notice. This coming month Indi will start to spend less time with me and begin to spend time with a nanny/sitter. Yes its time for this mamma and her babe to start working on their attachment issues. Stay tuned for updates (also known as ‘mamma cries in the car, parked around the corner’).

I want to say slow down, but my busy babe would not take any notice of me. I’m just making the most of being in these moments. Grow strong my little bum

Much love peeps xxx

