Its no secret, me and pinterest are in pretty heavy. We spend way too much time together and I’m starting to think that perhaps pinterest is a bad influence on me. It keeps making me do all sorts of things I would never have thought of doing.

Exhibit A: Salt Dough Ornaments.

A few of the sweet pieces we made at home

Original recipe source here

I pinned this a while back, but saw some awesome people attempting them via instagram. Peer pressure, yeah probably. Determined, I set out to crack another pinterest craft project.

As you can see they look gorgeous. I still want to paint them and add ribbon but even as they are they are super gorgeous.

SALT DOUGH RECIPE

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 1/2 cup warm water

Mix ingredients together (fine glitter added looks pretty too). Dust work space with a small amount of flour. Roll out to desired thickness (too thin may cause bubbling-too thick may require longer to cook). Cut/decorate your shapes. We used thyme sprigs, random leaves found in the garden, some lace and fridge magnet letters. Stamps work really well too if you can find some sweet ones. Don’t forget to make a hole for adding ribbon when the piece is finished (rub lightly with flour before baking for a more distinct white color). Place on a tray and place in preheated oven at 120 degrees for 2 hours. I found that if you turn the ornaments over 2o mins before they are done then the underside goes the same color.

Once they have finished baking let them cool, then if desired -decorate. A fabulous home made touch to your christmas tree. (Side note, I’m banned from putting up trees or decorating until December first, my poor little baked pretties are going to be so sad until then).

This was so much fun, even Aidan joined in. Going to add this to my ever growing list of Christmas traditions.

Much love peeps xxx

