Fathers day.

It started to sting yesterday. I would always ask dad what he wanted for fathers day, his reply was always ‘lots’. I miss buying him presents. I loved being able to buy stuff up here in Perth that he couldn’t get down in Albany. Made my present feel special, personalized. I miss him. So bloody much.

I am a complete mess of emotions today. Searing heart ache and bubbling pride. Its alright, I’m confused myself. Regardless of my own wah wahs, today was about Indi and Aidan. And I love that he gets to be her hero, my dad most certainly was mine.

 

Its been a lovely day. Woke the squid up so she could goob and slob all over her daddy. Packed the car with all sorts of non regulation foods (soft cheeses, salami’s, dips, french loaf, olives, chocolate and fizzy drink) and headed off to the zoo.

Along with every other dad in perth, we plodded around the zoo. Indi, ever the animal lover, was completely distracted by other babies, beards, icecreams and the odd bogan. Animals? Meh, totally not interested.

Animals? *Yawn*

When we got home, I whipped up a sneaky tiramisu (Aidan’s food request for fathers day). My first ever attempt, not sure if its any good yet. We’ll see when Aidan tastes it.

The plan for this evening is to snuggle up on the couch as a family. Chill out, relax and take a deep breath.

Things may change us, but we begin and end with family.

Much love peeps xxx

 

